The Devil’s New Year!

new-year

5…4…3…2…1.. Happy New Year!!!!

If you are like me a new year brings new revelations and gratefulness in your heart. Reflecting on the last year and years past, setting goals and wanting to be better than you ever been before. I know it’s cliché to set New Year’s Resolutions but I do every year. I think of them more as goals and why not start a fresh year feeling like I have another chance to be better. In fact I do that for my birthdays as well, having future oriented goals are healthy.

As I sit here half way into the month of a New Year I have had time for that bubbly “New Year, New Start” feeling to boil down. Real life continues and even after January one the concerns and barriers of December 31 the previous year are still lingering…the devil is celebrating his new year too! New goals for you means new goals for him to attack. A new vision for you is a new vision for him to make blurry and appear impossible. New partnerships and attitude shifts for you means using people to continue to test you in the areas you have always struggled in.

This year, in my own life, he did not even wait. I was refreshed and ready to put my plan in motion and he was on my heels ready to pounce. Truth be told God used me so much last year that the devil clearly felt like he needed to start a couple days before the new year. Smh. I fell right into it. I allowed the devil to steal my joy and become discouraged about areas of my life I had been excited about coming into 2017.

But no more! Once we become aware of the enemy’s tricks and exactly who is responsible for the discouraging feelings and negative thoughts WE CAN STOP THEM!

John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

I had to remember that the devil is very busy and as we all let our guard down with resolutions, goals and feeling inspired by another new year he is getting ready for an attack. For every goal we have he has a plan to dismantle it. The plan is not to reach and touch our goals at all it’s to start in our thinking and make us so tired of battling self doubt that we don’t even try! His mission is accomplished and that is how he wins.

So what do we do? How do we continue with our Happy New Year plans?

Stay in the word! Pray! Fight against the negative thinking and keep it pushing! Call the devil out and use what God says against him!

Isaiah 54:17 No weapon forged against you will prevail, and you will refute every tongue that accuses you. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and this is their vindication from me,” declares the LORD.

He never said it would be easy and I’m definitely not saying it will be, but it will be worth it! Your goals, resolutions and dreams are worth the fight. Happy New Year to you all and plenty blessing to come.

~ogbabymama

new-year1

Leave a Reply

